01.06.–19.06.2024 / Ballett


Ballet based on a book by Otfried Preußler
Demis Volpi
19:30 - 22:30
Premiere Ballett
Premieren-Abo Duisburg
18:30 - 21:30
Pay what you want! Ballett
Pay what you want!
11:00 - 14:00
19:30 - 22:30
15:00 - 18:00
Audiodescription, Family card Ballett
Im Anschluss: Nachgefragt
19:30 - 22:30
Audiodescription, For the last time this season Ballett
Kleines-Abo-2, Wechselnde Wochentage-Abo B
About violence, magic and the power of love
approx. 3 hours, two intervals
For all from 10 upwards
When orphan boy Krabat enters the mill in Koselbruch for the first time, he has no idea what secrets are guarded here by the mysterious master miller. The twelve apprentices stacking sacks of flour under the creaking beams are not only taught earthly craftsmanship, but also the art of black magic. Krabat quickly makes friends here, but something seems odd: year after year, one of the mill workers mysteriously dies. The power of the master, who has devoted himself to evil forces, takes its toll in order not to be weakened.

The only way out is the love of a girl for one of the apprentices. No wonder Kantorka, whom Krabat secretly meets in the forest, raises hope for an end to the master's diabolical machinations. But will Krabat be willing to put his love in danger?

In 2013, Demis Volpi presented “Krabat”, his first full-length story ballet based on the legendary book for young people by Otfried Preußler, at the Stuttgart Ballet, creating a choreography that immediately became a favourite with audiences across the generations. Now this evening about magic, freedom and the power of love will unfold its magic on stage at the Theater Duisburg.
Premiere on 22 March 2013, Stuttgart Ballet, Stuttgart Opera House
Pēteris Vasks/Philip Glass/Krzysztof Penderecki
Musikalische Leitung
Bühne und Kostüme
Gesang Solistin
Gesang Kinderchor
Akademie für Chor und Musiktheater e.V.
Pēteris VasksStreichquartett Nr. 3
„Message“ für Streichorchester, Schlagzeug und 2 Klaviere

Philip Glass
Konzert für Violoncello und Orchester
Konzert für Violine und Orchester Nr. 1

Krysztof Penderecki
Polymorphia für 48 Streichinstrumente
Sinfonie Nr. 1
Sinfonie Nr. 3

„Die Gedanken sind frei“
Überarbeitet von Wolfgang Heinz, ins Sorbische übersetzt von Eva-Maria Zschornack-Čornakec

Aufgenommen am 22.05.2012 in der Mäulesmühle, Arrangement und Einrichtung: Christoph Kirschfink
Sara Domjanic/Dragos Manza

Further Recommendations