The Deutsche Oper am Rhein Düsseldorf Duisburg GmbH is a theatre community serving the cities of Düsseldorf and Duisburg that represents a lengthy tradition of collaboration between these two urban centres. Ever since it was founded in 1956 it has been regarded as one of Germany’s leading opera houses. With an ensemble of top quality soloists, distinguished chorus and the nationally- and internationally-acclaimed Ballett am Rhein company, it has evolved into one of Europe’s premier addresses for both opera and dance.  Its home lies within one of Germany’s largest and most densely populated cultural regions. The two cities of Düsseldorf and Duisburg alone account for almost 1.1 million inhabitants, but numerous neighbouring districts and a large number of outside visitors also benefit from  the range of excellent work offered by the Deutsche Oper am Rhein.

The Deutsche Oper am Rhein’s level of provision is impressive when compared with other major opera houses.  Its two venues, with a total of 2,400 seats, stage over 260 events a year between them. These include opera, operetta, ballet, dedicated productions for young audiences, gala concerts and numerous special events.  The programme for the 2017/18 season, for example, includes the premieres of  eleven operas and seven evenings of ballet featuring the work of 18 choreographers as well as a  further 19 productions - this gives some indication of the stylistic breadth of the artistic programme.

This varied repertoire is performed by the artistic ensembles that come together at the Deutsche Oper am Rhein. The largest company of soloists in the world comprises established and experienced singers with international reputations together with a number of younger artists who are launching their careers from Düsseldorf and Duisburg. The current resident company consists of 47 soloists plus seven members of the opera studio. It is regularly supplemented by a series of visiting artists, many of whom have enjoyed a close working relationship with the Deutsche Oper am Rhein lasting several years.

General Director Prof. Christoph Meyer has been responsible for the Deutsche Oper am Rhein’s artistic programme since 2009 along with Music Director Axel Kober and Martin Schläpfer as Ballet Director and Chief Choreographer.  The leading team was joined by Alexandra Stampler-Brown as Managing Director in 2014 and Remus Şucheană as Ballet Director alongside Martin Schläpfer in 2016. Together they have made it their mission to consistently raise the house’s artistic standards, to uphold its great musical tradition and to open up new perspectives.  As a consequence it is not only the major classics of the operatic canon – the works of Mozart, Verdi, Puccini and Strauss – that make up the repertoire but also rare works of baroque opera, influential pieces from the modern era and commissioned works by contemporary composers.

While the orchestras of the two respective cities – the Düsseldorfer Symphoniker and the Duisburger Philharmoniker – make important contributions to the artistic success of both opera and ballet performances in Düsseldorf and Duisburg, the Deutsche Oper am Rhein Chorus appears on both stages in almost all the company’s opera productions as well as selected ballets and it is appreciated by audiences as an important artistic link within the theatre community.   

The Ballett am Rhein directed by Martin Schläpfer and Remus Şucheană is one of Europe’s leading companies. The magazine tanz voted Martin Schläpfer “Choreographer of the Year 2010” and the Ballett am Rhein “Company of the Year” in 2013, 2014, 2015 and again in 2017. The ensemble that can be seen on the stages of the Deutsche Oper am Rhein in Düsseldorf and Duisburg consists exclusively of soloists and is made up of 45 dancers. The company’s numerous touring engagements have included performances in Amsterdam, Berlin, Bilbao, Cologne, at the Edinburgh International Festival, in Geneva, The Hague, Ludwigsburg, Maastricht, Moscow, Munich, Muscat (Oman), as well as Paris, St. Pölten, Tel Aviv and Wiesbaden.

One key feature of the Ballett am Rhein’s repertoire is the choreography of Martin Schläpfer, who – in addition to a world premiere in collaboration with the composer Adriana Hölszky – will also stage a new version of one of the great ballet classics ‘Swan Lake’ in 2017/18. This award-winning artist, who has received numerous prizes including the Prix Benois de la Danse, the FAUST Theatre Prize, the Swiss Dance Prize, the Taglioni – European Ballet Award and the Duisburg Music Prize, is regarded as one of today’s most innovative and successful choreographers.  Alongside his works, the Ballett am Rhein’s repertoire is noted for its carefully selected interplay of historic ballets, contemporary masterpieces and numerous world premieres by both established and emerging artists, featuring names such as George Balanchine, Kurt Jooss, Antony Tudor, Frederick Ashton, Jerome Robbins, Paul Taylor, Merce Cunningham, Hans van Manen, Twyla Tharp, William Forsythe, Mats Ek, Jiří Kylián, Nils Christe, Marco Goecke, Amanda Miller, Hubert Essakow, Natalia Horecna and Remus Şucheană. The ensemble is also one of the leading interpreters of Hans van Manen, who has entrusted the company with nine of his works to date and in 2014 presented it with a world premiere, the ballet ‘Alltag’. The same year, 2014, also marked the company’s first collaboration with the WDR radio chorus Cologne with ‘DEEP FIELD’ by Adriana Hölszky.

In order to promote young choreographers, in 2015/16 Martin Schläpfer initiated the artistic platform ‘Young Moves’ which offers dancers within the ensemble an annual opportunity to choreograph their own pieces with the professional support of the Deutsche Oper am Rhein and to present them on one of the main stages in Düsseldorf or Duisburg.

In the field of opera a distinctive feature of the Deutsche Oper am Rhein’s work is its extensive and varied programme for young audiences. Considerable efforts are devoted to the large-scale family operas that are presented on both stages in Duisburg and Düsseldorf. These are supplemented by smaller foyer productions such as ‘The Magic Flute for Children’, a series of age-appropriate projects and a wide-range of educational packages.  In its 2013/14 season the Deutsche Oper am Rhein initiated a co-operation with Oper Dortmund and Theater Bonn entitled “Junge Opern Rhein-Ruhr”. This project, which is unique in Germany, aims to create an enthusiasm for music theatre amongst children and young people by composing new works especially for them. The children’s opera ‘Gulliver’s Travels’ by Gerald Resch in 2016/17 was the fourth commissioned opera to be presented in Düsseldorf, Duisburg and the two other commissioning cities. A new commissioned composition is already in preparation for 2017/18.

The Deutsche Oper am Rhein plays a prominent part in the cultural life of two cities with contrasting images. As the state capital of North Rhine-Westphalia, Düsseldorf is one of the five most significant economic centres in Germany and has a strong network of international links. The city is well known for fashion, shopping, culture and hosting events and as a lifestyle destination on the Rhine. The river Rhine connects Düsseldorf with Duisburg, the city with the largest inland harbour in the world and a richly varied history: Duisburg developed from a medieval trading centre to become the world’s largest steel producer and is now regarded as a city that has successfully negotiated structural change and emerged with an impressive industrial heritage. Both cities are keen to acknowledge their “theatrical marriage” that has lasted over 60 years, enabling both of them to present high culture while simultaneously demonstrating one of the most cost-effective theatre organizations in the country.

The Deutsche Oper am Rhein employs more than 580 workers with 35 different nationalities. They are living proof that music and art brings people together irrespective of geographical, political and linguistic boundaries and can start a dialogue which is important and essential to us all.

Die Deutsche Oper am Rhein Düsseldorf Duisburg gGmbH ist eine Theatergemeinschaft der Städte Düsseldorf und Duisburg, die auf eine lange Tradition der Zusammenarbeit zwischen den beiden Großstädten zurückblicken kann. Seit ihrer Gründung 1956 zählt sie zu den bedeutendsten Opernhäusern Deutschlands. Durch ihr hochrangiges Solistenensemble, den Chor sowie die national wie international gefeierte Compagnie Ballett am Rhein hat sie sich zu einer der ersten Adressen für Musiktheater und Tanz in Europa entwickelt. Sie ist in der größten und dichtesten Kulturregion Deutschlands beheimatet. Allein die beiden Städte Düsseldorf und Duisburg zählen zusammen fast 1,1 Millionen Einwohner, aber auch die umliegenden Regionen und eine große Zahl auswärtiger Gäste profitieren vom hochkarätigen künstlerischen Angebot der Deutschen Oper am Rhein.

Im Vergleich zu anderen großen Opernhäusern besticht die Deutsche Oper am Rhein durch ihre Leistungsstärke. An den beiden Spielorten, dem Opernhaus Düsseldorf und dem Theater Duisburg, die insgesamt rund 2.400 Zuschauern Platz bieten, können jährlich über 260 Veranstaltungen angeboten werden. Sie umfassen Oper, Operette, Ballett, spezielle Produktionen für junges Publikum, Galakonzerte und zahlreiche Sonderveranstaltungen. So stehen in der Spielzeit 2017/18 die Premieren von elf Opern, sieben Ballettabenden mit 18 Choreographien und 19 Wiederaufnahmen auf dem Programm, das von der stilistischen Vielfalt des künstlerischen Angebots zeugt.

Getragen wird dieses vielseitige Repertoire von den künstlerischen Ensembles, die an der Deutschen Oper am Rhein vereint sind. Dem weltweit größten Solistenensemble gehören ebenso erfahrene und international renommierte Sängerinnen und Sänger an wie zahlreiche junge Künstlerinnen und Künstler, die von Düsseldorf und Duisburg aus ihre Karriere starten. Derzeit zählt das feste Ensemble 47 Solistinnen und Solisten und sieben Mitglieder des Opernstudios. Hinzu kommt eine Reihe von Gastkünstlerinnen und -künstlern, von denen viele bereits seit Jahren mit der Deutschen Oper am Rhein eng verbunden sind.

Seit 2009 gestaltet Generalintendant Prof. Christoph Meyer gemeinsam mit Generalmusikdirektor Axel Kober und Martin Schläpfer als Ballettdirektor und Chefchoreograph das Programm der Deutschen Oper am Rhein. Alexandra Stampler-Brown gehört seit 2014 als Geschäftsführende Direktorin, Remus Şucheană seit 2016 als Ballettdirektor an der Seite Martin Schläpfers zu diesem Leitungsteam, das es sich zur Aufgabe gemacht hat, das künstlerische Niveau des Hauses beständig weiterzuentwickeln, seine große Musiktradition fortzuführen und neue künstlerische Perspektiven zu eröffnen. So gehören die großen „Klassiker“ der Opernliteratur – die Werke von Mozart, Verdi, Puccini und Strauss – ebenso zum Repertoire wie Raritäten der Barockoper, wichtige Stücke der Moderne oder Auftragsarbeiten an Komponisten unserer Zeit.

Während bei den Opern- und Ballettaufführungen in Düsseldorf und Duisburg die jeweiligen Orchester der beiden Städte – die Düsseldorfer Symphoniker bzw. die Duisburger Philharmoniker – zum künstlerischen Gelingen beitragen, ist der Chor der Deutschen Oper am Rhein auf beiden Bühnen in fast allen Opernaufführungen und ausgewählten Ballettproduktionen präsent und wird vom Publikum als ein wichtiges künstlerisches Bindeglied der Theatergemeinschaft geschätzt.

Das von Martin Schläpfer und Remus Şucheană geleitete Ballett am Rhein zählt zu den führenden Compagnien Europas. Die Zeitschrift tanz kürte Martin Schläpfer zum „Choreographen des Jahres 2010“ und das Ballett am Rhein 2013, 2014, 2015 und wiederum 2017 zur „Kompanie des Jahres“. 45 Tänzerinnen und Tänzer umfasst das ausschließlich aus Solisten bestehende Ensemble, das auf den Bühnen der Deutschen Oper am Rhein in Düsseldorf und Duisburg zu erleben ist. Gastspiele führten die Compagnie u.a. nach Amsterdam, Berlin, Bilbao, zum Edinburgh International Festival, nach Genf, Den Haag, Köln, Ludwigsburg, Maastricht, Moskau, München, Muscat (Oman), nach Paris, St. Pölten, Tel Aviv und Wiesbaden.

Einen Schwerpunkt im Repertoire des Balletts am Rhein bilden die Choreographien Martin Schläpfers, der neben einer Uraufführung in Zusammenarbeit mit der Komponistin Adriana Hölszky 2017/18 mit „Schwanensee“ auch einen der großen Ballettklassiker neu auf die Bühne bringen wird. Der u.a. mit dem Prix Benois de la Danse, dem Theaterpreis FAUST, dem Schweizer Tanzpreis, dem Taglioni – European Ballet Award und dem Duisburger Musikpreis ausgezeichnete Künstler zählt derzeit zu den innovativsten und erfolgreichsten Choreographen. Neben seinen Arbeiten findet das Repertoire des Balletts am Rhein sein Profil in einem sorgfältig geplanten Zusammenspiel aus historischen Choreographien, zeitgenössischen Meisterwerken sowie zahlreichen Uraufführungen renommierter wie junger Künstler, darunter Namen wie George Balanchine, Kurt Jooss, Antony Tudor, Frederick Ashton, Jerome Robbins, Paul Taylor, Merce Cunningham, Hans van Manen, Twyla Tharp, William Forsythe, Mats Ek, Jiří Kylián, Nils Christe, Marco Goecke, Amanda Miller, Hubert Essakow, Natalia Horecna und Remus Şucheană. Darüber hinaus zählt das Ensemble zu den wichtigsten Interpreten Hans van Manens, der der Compagnie bisher neun seiner Werke anvertraute und ihr 2014 mit dem Ballett „Alltag“ auch eine Uraufführung schenkte. 2014 kam es im Rahmen von „DEEP FIELD“ von Adriana Hölszky außerdem erstmals zu einer Zusammenarbeit mit dem WDR Rundfunkchor Köln.

Zur Förderung des choreographischen Nachwuchses hat Martin Schläpfer zur Spielzeit 2015/16 die künstlerische Plattform „Young Moves“ ins Leben gerufen, die einmal im Jahr Tänzerinnen und Tänzern aus dem eigenen Ensemble die Möglichkeit gibt, im Rahmen des professionellen Betriebs der Deutschen Oper am Rhein eigene Stücke zu choreographieren und auf einer der beiden großen Bühnen in Düsseldorf oder Duisburg zu präsentieren.

In der Sparte Oper zeichnet sich das Angebot der Deutschen Oper am Rhein insbesondere durch ein vielfältiges Programm für junges Publikum aus. Dabei stehen vor allem große Familienopern im Zentrum der Bemühungen, die auf den beiden Bühnen in Duisburg und Düsseldorf gezeigt werden. Dieses Angebot wird von kleineren Foyer-Produktionen wie der „Zauberflöte für Kinder“, verschiedenen altersgerechten Projekten und umfangreichen Vermittlungsangeboten ergänzt. Zur Spielzeit 2013/14 startete die Deutsche Oper am Rhein eine Kooperation mit der Oper Dortmund und dem Theater Bonn unter dem Titel „Junge Opern Rhein-Ruhr“. Dieses deutschlandweit einzigartige Projekt hat zum Ziel, Kinder und Jugendliche für spannendes Musiktheater zu begeistern, indem Werke speziell für sie komponiert werden. So entstand 2016/17 mit der Kinderoper „Gullivers Reise“ von Gerald Resch bereits die vierte Auftragsoper, die in Düsseldorf, Duisburg und den anderen beiden Kooperationsstädten gezeigt wird. Ein weiteres Auftragswerk für 2017/18 ist bereits in Arbeit.

Die Deutsche Oper am Rhein ist ein fester Bestandteil im Kulturleben von zwei Städten mit unterschiedlichem Image. Düsseldorf als Landeshauptstadt Nordrhein-Westfalens gehört zu den fünf wichtigsten, international stark verflochtenen Wirtschaftszentren Deutschlands. Gemeinhin steht die Stadt für die Themen Mode, Shopping, Kultur und außergewöhnliche Events und gilt als Lifestyle-Metropole am Rhein. Der Rhein verbindet Düsseldorf mit Duisburg, der Stadt mit dem größten Binnenhafen der Welt und einer wechselvollen Geschichte: Vom mittelalterlichen Handelszentrum entwickelte sich Duisburg zum weltgrößten Stahlstandort und gilt heute als Stadt des gelebten Strukturwandels mit einer eindrucksvollen Industriekultur. Beide Städte bekennen sich seit über 60 Jahren zu ihrer „Theaterehe“ und haben es dadurch geschafft, hier wie dort Hochkultur zu präsentieren und zugleich einen der wirtschaftlichsten Theaterbetriebe der Republik vorzeigen zu können.

An der Deutschen Oper am Rhein arbeiten über 580 Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter aus 35 verschiedenen Nationen. Sie sind der lebendige Beweis dafür, dass Musik und Kunst Menschen über alle geographischen, politischen und sprachlichen Grenzen hinweg verbindet und in einen für alle wichtigen und unentbehrlichen Dialog bringen kann.